Home > Livin' Life > feral cat lover

feral cat lover

What do you do with the leftovers in your house that no one wants to eat? Me? I take them to work and feed the feral cats. Yes, we have feral cats at work. Don't know what feral cats are? Look it up at m-w.com.

I couldn't see throwing away all the food that the kiddo wastes and that I know he won't eat later. Anyway, there are like 15-18 cats so they are always hungry. I have my favorites, of course. There is a little gray one with white feet. I named him baby boy but I sometimes, call him Buddy. He's a little butter ball. I have no idea how he got that way and if you ask. I will deny having anything to do with it. 😉 The last time, that I stepped on the freight scale while holding him, he was 5 pounds. I couldn't believe that he weighed that much but he does.

Baby Boy

Pudge
I have another favorite whom I assume is a male. He is black/white and has the most intelligent look about him. I call him Pudge for a very good reason. When he was a kitten, his legs were short(the cats are inbred) and his tummy hung down so far that he reminded me of a potbelly pig so I named him Pudge. He's about half grown now and his legs have caught up to the rest of him. Pudge lets me get really close to him, almost close enough to touch, but just as I am about to touch him, he moves away. There are several cats including Pudge and Baby Boy, who will take food from my hand. Sometimes, they are nice about it but sometimes, they bite my fingers(like when you play with your dog and they get a little too excited). Not hard but just enough so I can feel the needle sharp teeth that hide in their little mouths.

Even though these cats won't let me pet them, I love them. I love seeing them there everyday. If we notice one of our favorites aren't around at feeding time, we are sure to look for them throughout the day.

I would love to take one of the kittens home, especially Baby Boy. I know he would be kind of scared at first, but I think he would adjust quickly. Unfortunately, I can't take him home though because the 3 humans living in the house have allergies. 😦 

Categories: Livin' Life
  1. Nina
    April 29, 2006 at 04/29/06 10:26 AM

    I know what you mean, they are so cute… but please be careful. They are also dangerous. They are not the friendly kitties we’re used to. They are still wild animals, and can carry diseases they never get shots for.
    I know we all feel bad and want to take care of them, just remember where they live, and be vigilant.

  2. April 29, 2006 at 04/29/06 11:13 AM

    Don’t worry Nina. I’ve been dealing with these kind of cats for 10 years. I’ve never had one attack me, ever.The ones that I touch are tame enough to touch or I wouldn’t be able to touch them.

    Before my son was born, I had one named Sassy whom I took care of since she was a kitten. I could pick her up and everything. A friend of mine took her home to her farm and she ran away. I miss her.

    Thanks for your concern, hon. 🙂

  3. April 30, 2006 at 04/30/06 6:49 PM

    I love your blog, enjoyed spending some time reading through your posts. The cats are very lovely, and it’s so nice of you to feed them. Too many people are irresponsible pet owners, it’s sad that there are feral cats at all.

  4. April 30, 2006 at 04/30/06 6:55 PM

    Thanks for stopping by Faith and thanks for your comment. It's nice to know someone is reading. 🙂

  5. Capri
    May 1, 2006 at 05/1/06 12:44 AM

    I’m allergic to cats. 😦 But be careful in case they have rabies or something.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

